Kitten boundary testing

I was evacuated from my home this weekend because of a large forest fire. My older, wilderness savvy cat was outside during the evacuation which meant he was on his own for several days. Once the evacuation lifted, I was able to locate a very thirsty Jack and reunite him with the 3 month old kitten sisters who have invaded his home. He got a big drink, eyeing the girls (but not growling) when they got too close to his water and then settling into his napping chair. He then tolerated the tiny Penelope watching him nap, but when she jumped down into his space he reached out and batted her away. I don’t think he does this boundary setting hard enough to hurt the kittens because they give him space for long enough to relax and then are right back to sniffing and trying to snuggle him. It made me happy to have things safe and back to normal…and I think Jack may have even been more tolerant of the boundary testing in appreciation of his return to comfort.

IMG_0217

1 thought on “Kitten boundary testing”

  1. That must have been worrying. I’m so glad all of you are now home safely. I’m sure the kittens are being taught gentle lessons by your lovely older statesman šŸ˜ƒ.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

