quilting demons

IMG_0277

This is the very beginning of a story quilt about one of my demons. I have been meditating for around 50 days, exploring different types and surrendering to those that speak to me. One of the most intense has been “Feeding your Demons”. Llama Tsultrim Allione has made a Tibetan practice of getting to know and interact with the things that haunt and block us and changing them to be our allies accessible to Westerners. I have had several demon feeding sessions and one brought me to the realization that my need for external validation has become a monster, yet when if I shift my focus to providing it for myself it nourishes me and creates an abundance of love I can share with the world.

Right now, the quilt is waiting for the right fabric to make my demon out of. It will be inky and squid-like. The background and curled up silhouette are made from fabrics that I dyed myself with a combination of rust, plants from my yard, and chemical dye. The slow process of hand piecing the quilt top allows time for reflection and growth. I hope that the finished quilt will tell a story of healing and that this demon will be externalized for good.

Leave a Reply

